The History of Château Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande as known as Pichon Comtesse is a long family tale. First vines were planted on this piece of land made of gravel in the end of the 17th century.
In 1850, before passing away , the Baron Joseph de Pichon Longueville shared his vineyard between his two sons (Pichon Baron) and his three daughters; one of her, Virginie, married the Comte de Lalande and became Comtesse. She took up the management of the Estate and then assumed her own label Château Pichon Longueville – Comtesse de Lalande.
From 1925, the Miailhe Family took up the reins of this very unique Estate. Under the management of May Eliane de Lencquesaing, Edouard Miailhe’s daughter, Pichon Comtesse has acquired its world-class reputation as ‘Super Second’ in the 1855 classification. Since 2007, this Pauillac estate has been under ownership of Champagne Louis Roederer. An important restructuration of this 90 hectares large vineyards has been implemented to favour a better match between grape varieties, rootstocks and nature of soils, in favour of more Cabernet-Sauvignon than in the past. This replanting program has also given us the opportunity to convert many plots to Biodynamic viticulture (24 hectares now).
In 2013 is built a new winery that keeps alive the tradition of quality and consistency in Pichon Comtesse wines. Each plot is now vinified separately in conical shape tanks of different volumes and filled by gravity. These wines are true expressions of the Pauillac terroir, showing remarkable balance, silky tannic structure and Pichon Comtesse’s famous refined style.
Sharing wine with friends is why